The trash makes it possible to recover objects that were previously removed from the system. Whenever a node is about to be removed, eZ Publish will ask the user if the object that is associated with that node should be placed in the trash. If the "Move to trash" checkbox is checked, this is exactly what will happen. If not, the object will be lost forever. The contents of the trash can be inspected by accessing the "Trash" link which is located below the tree menu on the left. The following image shows the trash interface.
The trash interface.
Since the node (which contains information about the actual location of the object) is lost regardless of how you remove something, during recovery you will have to manually specify a new location for the object. The following text explains how you can recover an object from the trash.
- Bring up the trash interface by clicking the "Trash" link. The system will display a list of objects that have been put into the trash.
- Locate the object that you wish to put back into the node tree.
- Click the object's corresponding edit icon (on the right hand side). The system will bring up the object edit interface. If you want, you can modify the contents of the object.
- Click the "Send for publishing" button. Since the system does not know where the object should be placed, it will ask for it by bringing up the browse interface.
- Use the browse interface to select a location where the object should be published.
- Click OK - the system will then create a node for the object and thus it will be put back into the tree and the restore operation will be completed.
Balazs Halasy (07/02/2006 2:29 pm)
Balazs Halasy (28/02/2006 10:35 am)