Adding a new Location to a Content
This is the required code. As you can see, both the ContentService and the LocationService are involved. Errors are handled the usual way, by intercepting the Exceptions the used methods may throw.
Like we do when creating a new Content, we need to get a new
LocationCreateStruct. We will use it to set our new
Location's properties. The new Location's parent ID is provided as a parameter to
In this example, we use the default values for the various LocationCreateStruct properties. We could of course have set custom values, like setting the Location as hidden ($location->hidden = true), or changed the remoteId ($location->remoteId = $myRemoteId).
We finally use LocationService::createLocation(), providing the ContentInfo obtained above, together with our LocationCreateStruct. The method returns the newly created Location Value Object.
We mentioned earlier that a Location's visibility could be set while creating the Location, using the hidden property of the LocationCreateStruct. Changing a Location's visibility may have a large impact in the Repository: doing so will affect the Location's subtree visibility. For this reason, a LocationUpdateStruct doesn't let you toggle this property. You need to use the LocationService to do so.
There are two methods for this: LocationService::hideLocation, and LocationService::unhideLocation(). Both expect the LocationInfo as their argument, and return the modified Location Value Object.
The explanation above is valid for most Repository objects. Modification of properties that affect other parts of the system will require that you use a custom service method.
Deleting a location
Deleting Locations can be done in two ways: delete, or trash.
LocationService::deleteLocation() will permanently delete the Location, as well as all its descendants. Content that have only one Location will be permanently deleted as well. Those with more than one won't be, as they are still referenced by at least one Location.
TrashService::trash() will send the Location as well as all its descendants to the Trash, where they can be found and restored until the Trash is emptied. Content isn't affected at all, since it is still referenced by the trash items.