Path

ez.no / documentation / ez publish / user manual / 3.8 / daily tasks / restoring content


Caution: This documentation is for eZ Publish legacy, from version 3.x to 5.x.
For 5.x documentation covering Platform see eZ Documentation Center, for difference between legacy and Platform see 5.x Architecture overview.

Restoring content

The trash makes it possible to recover objects that were previously removed from the system. Whenever a node is about to be removed, eZ Publish will ask the user if the object that is associated with that node should be placed in the trash. If the "Move to trash" checkbox is checked, this is exactly what will happen. If not, the object will be lost forever. The contents of the trash can be inspected by accessing the "Trash" link which is located below the tree menu on the left. The following image shows the trash interface.

The trash interface.

The trash interface.

Since the node (which contains information about the actual location of the object) is lost regardless of how you remove something, during recovery you will have to manually specify a new location for the object. The following text explains how you can recover an object from the trash.

  1. Bring up the trash interface by clicking the "Trash" link. The system will display a list of objects that have been put into the trash.
  2. Locate the object that you wish to put back into the node tree.
  3. Click the object's corresponding edit icon (on the right hand side). The system will bring up the object edit interface. If you want, you can modify the contents of the object.
  4. Click the "Send for publishing" button. Since the system does not know where the object should be placed, it will ask for it by bringing up the browse interface.
  5. Use the browse interface to select a location where the object should be published.
  6. Click OK - the system will then create a node for the object and thus it will be put back into the tree and the restore operation will be completed.

Balazs Halasy (07/02/2006 1:29 pm)

Balazs Halasy (28/02/2006 9:35 am)


Comments

  • The trash can

    It would be very usefull if the location of the node could be retained so that you could restore the object to where it was deleted from. Especially if you could restore e.g. an entire site, not just individual files.
    Another problem is that the object is placed in the trash can of the owner - not the person who actually deleted it. In most cases at our site the person editing an object is not the same person who created the object. That means that in most cases when an object is deleted it is actually lost. And even when you are an administrator you do not have access to other person's trash
    A suggestion: could the deleted object not be placed three places: in the trash can of the person who owns the object, in the trash can of the person who actually deleted the object, and someplace where a person with admninistrator's rights could get to all the deleted files.